Out & About – A Pop-Up Adventure

Title Page detailThe BookTitle PageTitle Page detailTitle Page detailFlorence
Florence aerialVeniceVenice detailVenice detailVenice detailVenice detail
Burano aerialBurano detailBuranoBuranoBarcelona aerialBarcelona
Barcelona detailBarcelona detailParisParisParisParis detail

Out & About – A Pop-Up Book, a set on Flickr.

After many hundreds of hours of hemming and hawing and cutting and swearing and all those other fun things that go along with makin’ stuff, the Out & About pop-up book is finally done! Eight pop-up spreads, each of a different city that I visited while traveling abroad.

The goal was to show off something about the cities that isn’t typically known, i.e. not the majorly obvious tourist attractions. This is the first time I’ve ever made anything pop up, if you don’t count those birthday cards I made when I was five. It’s also the first time I’ve ever illustrated anything, really. Shocking, since I’m nearly done with college, but there you have it. My inspiration started out as 50s and 60s graphic design, but it sort of morphed into a Scandinavian-inspired whimsical thing as I went along. The pages are all printed on photo paper, hand cut and occasionally supported with extra cardstock. I bound it myself after creepily examining every pop-up book on the shelves in Barnes and Noble (after first making some poor employee help me find them all). There’s little pull-y tabs and spinny bits that don’t show in the photos, but I’m working on getting a video of it in action.

I hope you like it!

(It was also accompanied by a book trailer.)

This entry was published on December 29, 2011 at 4:30 am and is filed under Drawings, Painting, Papercutting. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Out & About – A Pop-Up Adventure

  1. Well said Great information, keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

